Skip to main content

Orientation

New Student Orientation, a program that is required for all first-year and transfer students, will help you prepare for your transition into college life as well as the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead—intellectually, emotionally, academically, and socially.

Concurrent Family Orientation programs are highly encouraged for parents and family members so they can learn about University resources and processes. New Student Programs looks forward to welcoming you to the Wolfpack during Orientation!

Orientation registration will be available in March.

Registration for summer orientation will be available in early-March for students who have confirmed their enrollment. Students and their family members will be emailed when summer orientation registration is available.

Review general information about summer orientation programs:

  • Orientation sessions are college-specific (i.e., College of Engineering students will attend specific orientation sessions while College of Natural Resources students will attend a different orientation session)
  • First-year students will be required to attend 1.5 day sessions in June or July. Sessions typically run from 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. on the first day (family until 5:30 p.m.) and 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on second day. Please note: these times are estimates for planning purposes. Solidified timing will be available prior to registration.
  • Transfer students will be required to attend 1 day sessions in June or July. Sessions run from 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. for students and family members. Please note: these times are estimates for planning purposes. Solidified timing will be available prior to registration.
  • A concurrent Family Orientation program will be offered to family members of incoming students. Families and students will attend the same orientation session (families should not expect to be with their students throughout the entire program as the majority of presentations and activities are separate).
  • Students will register themselves and any family members attending once registration is available.
  • The cost to attend orientation for students and families is included in the mandatory New Student Fee charged to all new students and included in your fall tuition bill. This fee covers the cost of attendance for the student and up to two guests (no payment is due to New Student Programs, but please note that overnight accommodations for family members is not included in these fees).

2024 Summer Orientation Session Dates

Colleges are listed alphabetically with their corresponding session dates:

FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Monday, July 22 – Tuesday, July 23
TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 19
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Tuesday, July 23 – Wednesday, July 24
  • Wednesday, July 24 – Thursday, July 25 (Note: This session is only available for students majoring in Animal Science)

*Students majoring in the Life Sciences First Year Program should locate orientation dates below under the heading Life Sciences First Year Program

TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 19
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Monday, July 8 – Tuesday, July 9
TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, June 28
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Monday, July 8 – Tuesday, July 9
TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 19
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Tuesday, June 11 – Wednesday, June 12
  • Wednesday, June 12 – Thursday, June 13
  • Thursday, June 13 – Friday, June 14
  • Monday, June 17 – Tuesday, June 18
  • Monday, July 29 – Tuesday, July 30
  • Tuesday, July 30 – Wednesday, July 31
  • Wednesday, July 31 – Thursday, August 1

*Students majoring in Textile Engineering attend the Orientation for the Wilson College of Textiles

*Students majoring in Paper Science Engineering attend the Orientation for the College of Natural Resources

TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 26
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Wednesday, July 10 – Thursday, July 11
  • Thursday, July 11 – Friday, July 12
TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 12
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Monday, June 24 – Tuesday, June 25
  • Wednesday, July 17 – Thursday, July 18
  • Thursday, July 18 – Friday, July 19
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Thursday, July 25 – Friday, July 26

*College of Natural Resources session includes Paper Science Engineering majors

TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, June 28
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Tuesday June 25 – Wednesday, June 26
  • Tuesday, July 9 – Wednesday, July 10
TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, June 28
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Monday, July 15 – Tuesday, July 16

*Students majoring in the Life Sciences First Year Program should locate orientation dates above under the heading Life Sciences First Year Program

TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, July 19
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Wednesday, June 26 – Thursday, June 27
  • Thursday, June 27 – Friday, June 28
  • Tuesday, July 16 – Wednesday, July 17
  • Wednesday, July 17 – Thursday, July 18
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Monday, July 22 – Tuesday, July 23

*Wilson College of Textiles sessions include Textiles Engineering majors

TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21
  • Friday, June 28
FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS
  • Thursday, June 20 – Friday, June 21
TRANSFER STUDENTS
  • Friday, June 21

*These sessions are for students from all colleges participating in the Summer Start program

Need Assistance?

If you have any questions about orientation or your transition to NC State, contact New Student Programs: