Meet the Summer Start Student Staff

Each year New Student Programs selects a group of enthusiastic and dedicated undergraduate leaders to assist with implementing the Summer Start program. Summer Start Mentors serve as important resources and guides to assist new students with the transition to NC State. Lead Mentors and Undergraduate Interns are student leaders who have previously served as Summer Start Mentors and assist in the program development and implementation of Summer Start.

Interested in becoming a 2018 Summer Start Mentor? Learn more here and apply by October 11, 2017!

Blank1

2017 Undergraduate Intern


Sam Blue

Hometown: Albemarle, NC
College: College of Education
Major: Mathematics Education
Class: Junior
Email: sgblue@ncsu.edu

2017 Lead Mentors


Stephanie Curri

Hometown: High Point, NC
College: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Major: Biochemistry
Class: Sophomore
Email: securri@ncsu.edu


Sam LaFell

Hometown: Durham, NC
College: College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Communication and Spanish
Class: Junior
Email: salafell@ncsu.edu


Mariah Morrison

Hometown: Laurinburg, NC
College: College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Political Science
Minor: Criminology
Class: Sophomore
Email: mamorri8@ncsu.edu

2017 Summer Start Mentors


Ryan Adams

Hometown: Raleigh, NC
College: College of Textiles
Major: Textile Engineering
Class: Sophomore
Email: radams4@ncsu.edu


Ari Alexandrescu

Hometown: Charlotte, NC
College: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Major: Plant and Soil Science
Minor: Economics
Class: Junior (Transfer)
Emailaalexan4@ncsu.edu


Emma Bartlett

Hometown: Erwin, NC
College: University College
Major: Exploratory Studies
Class: First-Year
Emailegbartle@ncsu.edu

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PM


Maya Davis

Hometown: Greensboro, NC
College: College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Philosophy
Class: Sophomore
Email: madavi14@ncsu.edu


Lauren Emer

Hometown: Wake Forest, NC
College: College of Sciences
Major: Biological Sciences
Class: First-Year
Emaillkemer@ncsu.edu


Chandler Finucane

Hometown: Charlotte, NC
College: Poole College of Management
Major: Business Administration
Class: First-Year
Emailclfinuca@ncsu.edu

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PM


Syhana Gainey

Hometown: Fayetteville, NC
College: College of Sciences
Major: Chemistry
Minor: Biological Sciences
Class: Sophomore
Emailstgainey@ncsu.edu


Englyn Harris

Hometown: Loganville, GA
College: College of Engineering
Major: Industrial Engineering Intended
Class: First-Year
Email: eaharri4@ncsu.edu


Cody Helm

Hometown: Durham, NC
College: College of Engineering
Major: Biomedical Engineering Intended
Class: First-Year
Emailcahelm@ncsu.edu

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PM


Carl Klier

Hometown: Greensboro, NC
College: College of Engineering
Major: Computer Science
Minor: Business Administration
Class: First-Year
Emailcaklier@ncsu.edu


Isaiah Lewis

Hometown: Kill Devil Hills, NC
College: Agriculture and Life Sciences
Major: Bioprocessing Science
Class: Sophomore
Emailldlewis@ncsu.edu


Malasia McClendon

Hometown: Monroe, NC
College: College of Humanities and Sciences
Major: Political Science
Class: First-Year
Emailmcmcclen@ncsu.edu

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PM


Mitchell Moravec

Hometown: Aurora, OH
College: College of Engineering and College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Material Science Engineering and Psychology
Class: Senior
Emailmsmorave@ncsu.edu


Precious Rogers

Hometown: Chicago, IL
College: College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Psychology
Class: First-Year
Emailpjrogers@ncsu.edu


Sky Ryals

Hometown: Fuquay-Varina, NC
College: University College
Major: Exploratory Studies
Class: First-Year
Emailslryals@ncsu.edu

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PM


Raven Stone

Hometown: Sanford, NC
College: College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Anthropology
Class: Sophomore
Emailrrstone@ncsu.edu


Anusha Tamhane

Hometown: Apex, NC
College: Poole College of Management and College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Economics and International Studies
Class: First-Year
Emailaptamhan@ncsu.edu


Nila Veerabagu

Hometown: Anderson, SC
College: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Major: Nutrition Science
Class: First-Year
Emailnaveerab@ncsu.edu

Screen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-28 at 2.43.14 PM


Megan Wong

Hometown: Charlotte, NC
College: College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Major: Psychology
Class: First-Year
Emailmowong@ncsu.edu


Daeja Woodard

Hometown: Charlotte, NC
College: University College
Major: Exploratory Studies
Class: First-Year
Emaildwoodar2@ncsu.edu